Turkey to Tanzania!

Even if I had nothing to say I was really looking forward to a post with that title.

We got the only direct flight from Istanbul to Kilimanjaro airport. The only problem being the 1am scheduled arrival time. I peaked at the flight update two days before departure to discover the departure and arrival had been pushed back 2 1/2 hours. Woof! Travel at night can really put a crimp in a normal “next” day. By the time we got to the hostel it was 4:30am or even later.

After spending the last two months in hot climates and landing in a locale close to the equator I was surprised to find I needed a long-sleeved shirt after landing. We had arrived in the mountains of Northern Tanzania and it would be chilly, especially at night.

One thought on “Turkey to Tanzania!

Leave a comment